Section Menu

Member Institutions

Membership Overview

Members of the Leadership Alliance include thirty-five of the nation’s leading research and teaching academic institutions. Member institutions from the academic community are highly diverse in geographic distribution and range in size from roughly 1,000 to more than 50,000 students. A core value of each institution is an intimate scholarly relationship built upon student-faculty mentoring, through which opportunities for undergraduate research in the biological, physical and social sciences as well as the humanities are promoted.

Each Alliance member is represented in the consortium by an institutional coordinator. Leadership Alliance coordinators are high-level administrators, faculty, staff or program managers at their respective member institution.

The Leadership Alliance's Membership Committee handles all communication regarding membership. It strives to create and maintain a vital consortium through thoughtful consideration of the Alliance's mission, strategic goals, and organizational balance.


The following list of member institutions includes the names and academic positions of the institutional coordinators.

  1. Brooklyn College
    Louise Hainline
    Professor of Psychology
  2. Brown University
    Marlina Duncan
    Associate Dean of Diversity Initiatives
    Vanessa Ryan
    Associate Dean of Graduate School
  3. Chaminade University of Honolulu
    Patricia M. Lee-Robinson
    Associate Provost & Director of the Office of Health Professions Advising and Undergraduate Research
  4. Claflin University
    Muthukrishna Raja
    Professor of Chemistry
  5. Columbia University
    Celina Chatman Nelson
    ​Associate Dean for Academic Diversity and Inclusion
  6. Cornell University
    Laurel Southard
    Director, Undergraduate Research
  7. Dartmouth College
    F. Jon Kull
    Dean, School of Graduate & Advanced Studies
  8. Dillard University
    Eric Buckles
    Associate Professor of Biology
  9. Harvard University
    Sheila Thomas
    Dean for Academic Programs and Diversity
  10. Heritage University
    Winona Wynn
    Associate Professor of Humanities
  11. Howard University
    Dexter Lee
    Associate Professor
  12. Hunter College
    John Rose
    Dean for Diversity & Compliance
  13. Johns Hopkins University
    Joel Schildbach
    Vice Dean for Undergraduate Education
  14. Montana State University
    Carina Beck
    Director, Allen Yarnell Center for Student Success
  15. Morehouse College
    Jann Adams
    Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs
  16. Morgan State University
    Dean, College of Liberal Arts
  17. New York University
    Debra Szybinski
    Executive Director, Office of Faculty Resources/Faculty Resource Network
  18. North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University
    Tonya Hargett
    Director, Office of Undergraduate Research
  19. Princeton University
    Renita Miller
    Associate Dean of Access, Diversity and Inclusion
  20. Spelman College
    Cynthia Neal Spence
    Associate Professor, Sociology
    Director, UNCF/Mellon Programs
  21. Stanford University
    Anika Green
    Assistant Vice Provost for Graduate Education
  22. Tougaloo College
    Bianca Garner
    Assistant Provost & Dean, Division of Natural Sciences
  23. Tufts University
    Rob Mack
    Associate Provost and Chief Diversity Officer
  24. University of Chicago
    Melissa Gilliam
    Associate Dean, Diversity & Inclusion
  25. University of Colorado Boulder
    Mark Hernandez
    Professor, Civil, Environmental & Architectural Engineering
  26. University of Maryland, Baltimore County
    Earnestine Baker
    Ret. Assistant to the Vice President, Institutional Advancement;
    Executive Director of the Meyerhoff Scholarship Program
  27. University of Miami
    Michael S. Gaines
    Professor of Biology & Assistant Provost of Undergraduate Research & Community Outreach
  28. University of Pennsylvania
    Arnaldo Diaz
    Assistant Dean for Research Training Programs
  29. University of Puerto Rico (Contacts at other campuses in the UPR system)
    Carmen Ivette Pérez-Marín
    Director of the Honors Program
  30. University of South Florida
    Michael Cross
    Director, Office for Undergraduate Research
  31. University of Virginia
    Keisha John
    Director of Diversity Programs
  32. Vanderbilt University
    Don C. Brunson
    Assistant Dean, Graduate School
  33. Washington University in St. Louis
    Rochelle D. Smith
    Assistant Provost, Diversity Initiatives
  34. Xavier University of Louisiana
    Ja'Wanda S. Grant
    Special Assistant to the Provost for Scholar Development and Institutional Alliances
  35. Yale University
    Michelle Nearon
    Associate Dean for Graduate Student Development & Diversity